All at Sea on a Black Rubber Boat

It all started with a ‘fun run’ in December 2015. A ‘Colour Fun Run’ to be exact. This is where you get multi-coloured powders thrown at you as you run/jog/walk on a 5 k course for charity. It is fun, no one takes it seriously. People dress in outlandish costumes and enjoy the event.

This was not my first Colour Run. The first one I did and I did run. This one I walked because my friend, whose son organises the event, is not a runner, so, I walked it with her. At the end of this saunter everyone congregated at a local tavern for breakfast and  a raffle of prizes donated by local sponsors. To my delight my number came up and I won a harbour safari for 4 persons! How lucky was I?!

So, there I was with 4 free tickets for a cruise …through Nassau Harbour and around Paradise Island. Then I got a bit creative….what if I filled the 12-seater boat with a few more friends? We could make it a private charter. If it is private, then we can make it an early evening cruise….with cocktails. If we have cocktails, then we can follow on with dinner at a nearly eatery. You get the picture….

And there we were…..ten ladies….I did not include men….as we did not want monologues on politics, football, etc, etc.

Yes, ten ladies and 3 gallons of rum punch. Not to mention a crew of two very nice men….Lee and ‘Grouper’. We cruised smoothly through the harbour, picking out sites of interest which we almost never see from this aspect. It was a balmy evening, sky was clear, sun setting lazily in the west. Rum punches being poured over clinking ice cubes…..constantly being poured over clinking ice cubes. With the wind in our hair and the libation flowing through our veins it was the perfect way to unwind. We chatted, we laughed, we enjoyed.

An hour and 15 minutes later we re-docked at the marina. A good time had by all at sea in our black rubber boat. And now it was on to dinner…..

Leave a comment